top of page
  • Writer's pictureMy Little Underground

Life During Quarantine: Marissa Young

Updated: Aug 3, 2020



--Ada Wofford

----28 May 2020


In this installment of Life During Quarantine we chat with opera singer, Marissa Young. Marissa is the first classical musician to be featured on My Little Underground but that’s not to say she doesn’t have any love for rock n’ roll. She talks to us about everything, from opera to Nirvana.

MLU: Tell us what instrument(s) you play and what project you are currently working on—If nothing current, what have you worked on recently or in the past?

Marissa: I am an opera singer. My voice is my instrument and my voice part/type is a dramatic mezzo soprano. That means I have a very large instrument (voice) and roles I'd be cast for would be mostly villains or heroines. I am not the kind of light voice that sings maidens or princesses. I am also great for pants roles (playing a male character, as I have a deep and very developed chest voice). As for other roles, I am more of an Azucena from Il Trovatore, and I can also sing both Santuzza and Mamma Lucia from Cavalleria Rusticana, not so much a Gilda from Rigoletto. I have a rich, velvet-y, boomy voice and it is behemoth in size. This limits the roles I am cast for in opera. There are not many true dramatic mezzos out there but competition for roles is hit or miss. Many roles are given to pay-to-sing singers. I have sung the roles of Azucena from Il Trovatore, Baba from The Medium and Mamma Lucia from Cavalleria Rusticana, although I have been learning Santuzza during quarantine, among many other roles and recitals. Currently, I am working on Samson & Delilah as my dream role is Delilah and I hope to land her one day when the quarantine lifts.

MLU: As a musician, what have you been doing during quarantine?

Marissa: I've been singing a lot of Mahler, Lieder Und Gesänge, to be specific. I've been trying my cords at Wagner as well. Brunhild is a huge challenge. I hate zoom voice lessons so I have been recording myself and critiquing my voice myself. So, basically I have been getting my feet wet in many roles and arias to prepare my career for when the pandemic lifts. I want to hit the ground running when it is safe to do so. I am also currently in the process of making new, original music with my fiancée, but that has been a slow process as we both work. So, I've been writing a lot of lyrics and melodies and working arias outside of my comfort zone, preparing for hopeful future roles.

MLU: Do you feel that quarantine is affecting your productivity as a musician/writer? If yes, how so? If no, why not?

Marissa: Yes. Motivation comes and goes. I am a person who tends to be motivated by social pressure and not wanting to let people down. So, not having a cast to interact with, no orchestra, no director has been a challenge. I feel a little more complacent with practice. I have to force myself quite a bit. But working with my fiancée has been easy when time permits.




Marissa Young

Photo by: Toney Tapia

MLU: What records have you been gravitating towards during this time?

Marissa: I have been gravitating towards a lot of nostalgic music. Old Paramore and old Fall Out Boy (back when they were good). My Chemical Romance, Taking Back Sunday, The Killers as well. I listen to a lot of Nirvana but that is always the case, along with Panic! At the Disco. I've also recently taken a liking to Slutever and GRLwood*, who aren't new to the scene but they're new to me. Swain, Drug Church, and Gouge Away albums have been on my rotation. Specific albums/records I have had on repeat are Daddy by GRLwood*, Almost Famous by Slutever, and basically every Surf Curse album. When I feel sad, which has been quite a bit lately, I've found Home, Like Noplace Is There by The Hotelier pretty cathartic and therapeutic. Lots of Sorority Noise records on repeat too, during my low moments. As far as opera, I have been listening to the classics: Obraztsova, Callas, Cernei, Jessye Norman, Bartoli, Grace Bumbry, and new voices like Nadine Sierra. She put out an album in 2018, There's A Place For Us, that makes me weep every time. I listen to it almost daily even now.


Update 3 August 2020--After learning new information in regards to GRLwood Marissa Young has released this statement to My Little Underground:


"It has recently come to my attention that GRLwood vocalist/guitarist, Rëj Forester, assaulted drummer, Karen Ledford. I am extremely disappointed and disgusted as GRLwood was a band I turned to for inclusion and feminism. Actions speak louder than words. I no longer support or listen to GRLwood. I wish Karen Ledford healing, strength, and success in her future endeavors. I stand with Karen Ledford."

MLU: Do you think you’re gravitating towards them specifically because of the quarantine?—If so, how?

Marissa: I think I am gravitating towards the more sad records, bands, and artists I mentioned above now more during quarantine. I've had a lot of sadness I've needed to release and I find sad music is good for that. It has a time and a place, and that place is now.

MLU: Writing a song about quarantine/the pandemic—Cool or Cheesy?

Marissa: I think it could go either way, it depends on how the song is written. I am certain every musician on Earth will be writing a song about the pandemic, so there is going to be a ton of pandemic songs to listen to. But, I think it could be cool if done well. It could very easily be cheesy or cringy though.

MLU: What’s the first thing you plan on doing once this is over?

Marissa: Going back to my martial arts gym and rolling/sparring with my gym buddies. Deadlifting as much as possible. Getting my foot in the door of auditions. And having my friends in the new home we just signed the papers for today. I ALSO CANNOT WAIT TO GO TO CONCERTS AGAIN. Also, going back to yoga.

MLU: Just for fun, if you were to write a song about quarantine or the pandemic, what would you call it?

Marissa: I would call it "Mask On" and it would be a shitty grunge remix of Future's "Mask Off" and totally satire.



To learn more about Marissa Young and to follow her work, visit her website at:

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page