top of page
  • Writer's pictureMy Little Underground

The Best Songs of the Decade

Here are our favorite tracks of the decade, in no particular order.

Check out the Spotify playlist HERE.


Vampire Weekend - Step (2013)

---Ada Wofford

I remember when the lyric video was released in 2013, blown up in 96-point Futura. Those iconic Woody Allen-esque black-and-white shots of New York, with that charming harpsichord and Ezra’s sweet-as-sugar voice. Vampire Weekend was back and stronger than ever! I actually went to a Best Buy and bought the album the day it came out. It was the last time I bought a physical copy of an album the day it came out. I know I haven’t actually talked about the music—I don’t need to. It speaks for itself.




The Growlers - One Million Lovers (2013)

---Dom Vadino

"One Million Lovers" is a song that found me. When I first came across this track, I was actively seeking new music to listen to; I wanted to hear bands from genres I've never explored and The Growlers happened to be on 103.3 WPRB on my way home from my shitty deli job. This eerie, haunting, hypnotic song just stuck out so much to me that I had to investigate the rest of their discography, which is just an incredible volume of music. If you're into surfy, lo-fi, trippy, rock-n-roll: this band is a go to.




Titus Andronicus - A More Perfect Union (2010)

---Michael Drewes

Beginning with an abridged reading of Abraham Lincoln’s “Lyceum Address,” “A More Perfect Union” is a raw, unapologetic anthem for the early American spirit. It starts off strong and jams all the way through. There aren’t many 7-minute songs that can do that and not feel tired by the end. I remember hearing this song in college and the guitar riff was the first thing to jump out at me. So simple but it works so well when combined with the drums. To me, the line that really kills is, “I want to realize too late I never should have left New Jersey,” a sentiment shared by all current and former NJ residents (myself being among them).





Lingua Ignota - DO YOU DOUBT ME TRAITOR (2019)

---Brandon Howard

Listening to CALIGULA as a full length record took me through several phases: First, I was blown away by the pain, terror, and chaos that one human being not only experienced but managed to channel into song. Secondly, I was mesmerized by the songwriting, production, and absolutely immaculate vocal performance Kristin Hayter delivers on every track. After I had enough time with the record to adjust to its emotional intensity, it became a continually rewarding listening experience, leading me to find new things to love about each song upon repeated examination. I’ve listened to the album an upwards of 25 times but likely could put it on at this very moment and still find something new buried among its hellscape. The album’s second track, “DO YOU DOUBT ME TRAITOR” is a true gem and a great introduction to the themes present on the rest of the record. It’s a seven minute odyssey of pain and despair starting with a quiet plea and exploding into a wall of industrial noise. A violently potent mix of sadness and anger starts here and traces its way throughout the entirety of the record. The track by itself is so intense that I had to pause before going on to the rest of the songs. It’s hard to describe just how emotionally taxing of a song it is until you’ve made it to then end and feel the need to immediately relisten, if for no other reason than the need to truly understand what it is you just experienced.




Hospitality - Friends of Friends (2012)

---Ada Wofford

I remember learning that the singer/songwriter of Hospitality went to Yale and got an English degree. I was in community college studying English at the time and also in a band that wasn’t nearly as cool as Hospitality so, she made me feel like a loser. But her tunes cheered me up. “Friends of Friends” is technically “retro-hip”—That’s a term I’m coining right now. At the time, 2012, this was like as hip as you could get, which is why they were probably forgotten so quickly. I don’t care though, Hospitality still gets stuck in my head all the time. Other highlights include “Betty Wang” and “All Day Today.”




Grown Ups - Three Day Weekend (2010)

---Dom Vadino

Sometimes you're cleaning dishes in the back of a restaurant and you want your phone to just play whatever music to you. Little did I know, it would play this profound math-punk-emo song, "Three Day Weekend." When you're a songwriter, coming across a track like this makes you wish you had written it. It's just so good. The guitars are so uniquely toned, with just a dab of distortion. The drums are all over the place, in a dope way. All of this constrained in such an unpredictable song structure. With this information, expect the same from the rest of the album. Unfortunately, this band is no more but they've definitely left an impact.




Wilco - Hold Me Anyway (2019)

---Michael Drewes

When Wilco’s latest album came out I was pumped. Not necessarily because their new album was going to blow me away, but because this year I dove headfirst into Wilco (thanks Ada), and they had already blown me away with albums that had come out 15+ years ago. Clearly, I am late to the Wilco party and I apologize for that, but Ode to Joy is a great album. The whole feeling of the album is understated. “Hold Me Anyway” encapsulates the album perfectly—It starts out slow, builds up slowly, and crescendos into the chorus with a catchy guitar interlude. Somehow this song simultaneously feels old and new, like it could have been recorded in either 1969 or 2019.




IDLES - Mother (2017)

---Ada Wofford

I was drunk when I discovered IDLES, as you should be. I listened to this track at least three times and then the entire album. IDLES are the best contemporary punk band and “Mother” is their best track. If you don’t bang your head and have an urge to punch something when you hear this track, you’re a fucking jellyfish. THE BEST WAY TO SCARE A TORY IS TO READ A GET RICH!




PUP - Sleep in the Heat (2016)

---Dom Vadino

I feel so predictable with this choice, but I really don’t care. “Sleep in the Heat” is such an awesome song by PUP. Although I want to include more songs from these dudes on my list, I felt it was necessary to pick just one to sum up how awesome this band is. Their music is the ultimate blend of folk and punk. PUP has consistently put out great music throughout this entire decade. “Sleep in the Heat” is a heartbreaking song about losing a pet. It has a hard-hitting intro that excellently shifts into one of the wildest songs of the decade. I’m so excited to hear more from PUP after releasing their very successful third album, Morbid Stuff, earlier this year. This band is amazing.





Jay Malinowski & The Deadcoast - Biarritz (2012)

---Michael Drewes

Jay Malinowski is most certainly not a household name, at least not in the US; maybe he is more well known in Canada. As lead singer and guitarist for the ska/reggae/punk band, Bedouin Soundclash, Malinowski has an interesting collection of musical projects. In addition to Bedouin Soundclash, he has a solo album that came out in 2010 and collaborated with Coeur de Pirate in 2011 with the EP, Armistice; which came out in 2012 after working with The Deadcoast. And it’s pretty cool. I don’t even know why I like this song so much, but I love it. It’s probably not even the best song on the EP but the way it flows just speaks to me on some unconscious level.





Tame Impala - Alter Ego (2010)

---Brandon Howard

I can say in no uncertain terms that “Alter Ego” is among the most psychedelic songs I’ve ever heard. All of the fractals and colorful waves that have characterized illustrated renditions of LSD visuals seem present in audio form. Lush chords, powerful digital delays, and Kevin Parker’s dreamlike Beatles-esque vocals create a layer of beautiful textures that are only matched by his song writing prowess. Tame Impala has evolved considerably over the years but have never quite captured the magic of their first two guitar-driven records





Mitski - Townie (2014)

---Ada Wofford

So, I actually discovered Mitski right around the time I discovered that I’m trans and this song obviously struck a chord with me, “I’m not gonna be what my daddy wants me to be/I’m gonna be what my body wants me to be”(I know we avoid lyrics on this site but it’s a special occasion). But that’s not even why I love it. It’s pure Pinkerton wrapped up in early 2010’s garage rock influence. It’s catchy, gnarly, and unabashedly feminist. I love it. That fucking UFO solo?—Who the hell does that? I love it!!





Mothers - Copper Mines (2016)

---Dom Vadino

When searching for new music online I often like to check out videos of live performances. In this instance, it was an Audiotree video. I believe a band performing well is more impressive than a band who records well. Mothers is a perfect example of that. “Copper Mines” is a melodic, shoe-gazey, surfy tune that came out of nowhere to me. Although it’s slow paced, this song is just so creatively simple yet complex and so Bluesy—It’s hard to ignore. Please listen to it so I have someone to talk about this band with.





Radiohead - Burn the Witch (2016) ---Michael Drewes

“Burn the Witch” is a very interesting song. On the surface, you would think the repeating staccato strings would be monotonous, but the way it crescendos to the chorus is refreshing. And Thom Yorke’s falsetto and haunting melodies never disappoint. I think what has drawn me to this song year after year is its subtle complexity and the strangeness of the accompanying music video. A cult society captured in stop-motion with clay figurines and as the song reaches the climax, a giant wooden prison is set ablaze with an outsider trapped inside. He manages to escape, but its message is undeniable. Leave cult societies alone, and always give Radiohead full creative freedom.





Sleaford Mods - Tied Up In Nottz (2014)

---Ada Wofford

This, along with IDLES, is the punk of the decade. Pure minimalist, working-class punk. The drums are tinny and thin, the bass is chunky, the lyrics are confusing but full of FUCKYOU energy and that’s all you need. This song doesn’t get old. I listen to it several times every month. If you’ve never heard it, put it on and turn it up loud.





Mac DeMarco - No Other Heart (2015)

---Dom Vadino

The Pepperoni Playboy, Mac DeMarco, is a gentleman that took some time to grow on me. He was introduced to me during my punk phase so, I wasn’t very accepting of how great his music is at the time. It wasn’t until I went on a weird new-music-search and rerouted back to him that I was able to find an appreciation for his music. It was a good thing too because shortly after I became obsessed, he put out this mini album Another One, including the track “No Other Heart.” This song is clear evidence of how his music matured since the creation of his debut album, Salad Days—and I believe “No Other Heart” to be his best song of the decade, for sure.





(Sandy) Alex G - Harvey (2014)

---Ada Wofford

Alex G has a special talent for writing weird, catchy as hell pop tunes and this is perhaps the best example of his talent. The only reason I picked this over “Gretel” is because “Gretel” is on my best of 2019 list and, in a way, part of why I love “Gretel” is because it reminds me of “Harvey.” I discovered Alex G about a year after DSU came out. It was early September and the weather mixed with the amateur cover art of a football player somehow congealed in my mind to make “Harvey” hit me in a supernatural way. This is one of those special songs that has never left me. I smell a certain air when I hear this. I see a certain sky. It’s a rare, beautiful thing.





MGMT - Alien Days (2013)

---Brandon Howard

When reflecting back upon MGMT’s career, the only thing that seems to be consistent is their inconsistency. From album to album, the band changes sound radically, from synth-pop to psych-rock, and then from surf-rock to experimental. Within their catalogue, one song in particular seems to be a rare blend of all their creative outings and it’s the opening track to their 3rd album, Alien Days. The chord progression lends itself almost towards folk-country, but their similar songwriting tastes can be traced back to the 2010’s album Congratulations and it’s perhaps the only time on the album it seems like both records were by the same band. A bouncy, almost circus like melody floats in and out of the track, with purposely detuned synthesizers and big Flaming Lips style drums. Even though they’re known for pop tracks like “kids” or “time to pretend”, a deeper look at their discography can show what skilled musicians MGMT really are, with their college training becoming very apparent when examining the music theory behind the song and the cleverness of their melodic and chordal decisions.





Jack Stauber - Pizza Boy (2018)

---Dom Vadino

Jack Stauber could be mistaken as Mac DeMarco’s weird, avant-garde cousin as they are similar in style, both musically and aesthetically. I came across Jack’s HiLo album a little late, but not too late for the decade. Resembling the essence of David Bowie, “Pizza Boy” is a spacey, psychedelic power-rock song that comes out of nowhere on this album. I feel like I’m in a movie when I’m listening to this song, it’s just so powerful and provoking, with really peculiar instrumentation laid down in this Sci-Fi feeling song.





Kanye West/Paul McCartney - Only One (2015)

---Ada Wofford

This is my favorite Kanye West song. Yeah, that’s right! I think this song is brilliant. McCartney’s keyboard playing is absolutely beautiful and it’s the most charming I ever heard Kanye sing. This song always, always makes me feel better. It’s adorable, it’s brilliant, it’s my only one. Also, the production is incredible. No percussion, just keyboard and vocals.





Kairon; IRSE! - Valorians (2014)

---Brandon Howard

I discovered this Finnish band via internet forums among the dark pretentious underbelly of online music nerd culture. I approached skeptical as always, but was blown away upon my first listen to their debut album, Ujubasajuba. If I could have imagined a perfect blend of shoegaze and dream pop influences, this would be it. It stays true to the roots and stylistic approach of its precursors, with modern production and a considerably heavier attack. The opening track, “Valorians” begins with a classic My Bloody Valentine style snare fill and launches into a groove so heavy it wouldn’t seem out of place on a Mars Volta record. Combine that with thoughtful and musical chord changes, ghostly vocals, and bombastic dynamics and you’ve got an instant classic in my book. Great production, great songwriting craft, and strong new-age sensibilities allow it to reach new territories within the frames of the genres it pays homage to.





Cage the Elephant - Telescope (2013)

---Dom Vadino

Back when Melophobia came out, I feel like this album was just on repeat, no matter where I went. Even if I wasn’t intentionally listening to it, I’d hear “Cigarette Daydreams” playing in a Taco Bell or “Come A Little Closer” in another strange location to hear Cage The Elephant. This album is not just one of my top 10 of the decade but definitely one of my top 10 all-time favorite records. I don’t know if this was a concept album about a bad acid trip or something, but it’s one of the wildest rides to listen to for the first time. The third track in, “Telescope,” steals the entire album. This gloomy, soft, catchy tune heavily competes with “Shake Me Down,” which could be argued as their best song.





Kurt Vile - Pretty Pimpin (2015)

---Ada Wofford

It’s weird, I’m not a huge Kurt Vile fan. This might be the only song of his I really like but the thing is, I fucking love it. That riff is so damn infectious. It’s the type of riff that keeps you up at night. The type of riff you wish you wrote. Then that solo—Ugh, kill me now! Also, it’s produced beautifully and the video is haunting and stupid at the same time. Blast this track and dig that groove, daddy-o!





Grizzly Bear - Sleeping Ute (2012)

---Brandon Howard

When Grizzly Bear began making their 2012 album Shields after a 6-month hiatus, they were initially unhappy with the songs from their early writing sessions. Only two songs survived from that time period: “Yet Again” and “Sleeping Ute,” which are also the first two on the track listing. Both tracks are among the album’s strongest offerings and although the later songs they created went on to comprise the bulk of the most successful album of their career, the opening of the record is among the most powerful I’ve heard from a band of their ilk. I recall seeing Grizzly Bear perform “Sleeping Ute” live in 2013, and it remains in my memory as one of the best live performances I’ve ever experienced. The songwriting, arrangements and dynamics are near flawless, but to hear it orchestrated live was a near spiritual experience. Lush vocal harmonies, creative instrumentation, and beautiful yet melancholy lyrics were the perfect storm to begin the album and the themes that carry on throughout. I look upon this track as not only the best on the record, but perhaps the best song of the band’s career.





Alt J - Dissolve Me (2012)

---Dom Vadino

I’m pretty sure this song is about acid. Maybe even the entire album. Alt J was one of those bands that I kept hearing about, but I never really took the time to listen because I’m one of the most musically ignorant people you’ll ever meet. One day, after skipping some classes, I sat in my family room and pulled up a live performance of Alt J just for the hell of it. I heard “Dissolve Me” and it just stuck with me ever since. As weird of an album An Awesome Wave is, it consistently pushes the boundaries of weird, psychedelic alternative-rock.





Big Thief - Shark Smile (2017)

---Ada Wofford

I can’t sing along to this song without tearing up. The tune is groovy, catchy, and utterly heartbreaking. If I couldn’t understand English, it would still break my heart. Her singing is so fragile. I never heard singing described as fragile, but that’s what it is—And that’s why it hurts. Turn this on and have a good cry. Oh, and that solo! So unexpected yet so perfect. And, like with Alex G, the only reason “Not” isn’t on this list is because it’s on my best of 2019.





Twin Peaks - Getting Better (2016)

---Dom Vadino

“Getting Better” is one of those songs that gets me out of a bad mood. It has these warm sounding acoustics that are accompanied by some piano and perfectly placed drum parts. The song feels like 3 minutes of summer. There’s something about this song that reminds me of Randy Newman. I can’t pinpoint it.





Joyce Manor - Heart Tattoo (2014)

---Ada Wofford

Maybe this isn’t the best Joyce Manor song but I feel like it sums up all their good parts. They popped up and reclaimed emo as their own this decade. Sure, they sort of fell apart into obscurity and mediocrity but who hasn’t? They’re the only band I don’t personally know that I saw twice this decade. Both times I drunkenly screamed along to this track and all the others—regardless of whether I knew the lyrics or not.





King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard - Billabong Valley (2017)

---Dom Vadino

Flying off of the Flying Microtonal Banana, “Billabong Valley” is a dope-ass Acid-Rock song that experiments with, you guessed it, microtones. You gotta see the guitars these guys used to perform this song, you’ll have a heart attack. Oh, they also have two drummers so, that's a thing. It’s difficult to describe but for some reason I think of the terms: middle-eastern, spaghetti-western, and psychedelic. If you take a listen you’ll know what I mean. The live version of it is better than the original in my opinion, but see for yourself.





And as a little bonus, Michael Drewes shares his 5 favorite covers of the decade:



Life on Mars by David Bowie covered by Aurora

This was the first song I ever heard by Aurora. Her version of “Life on Mars” is beautiful and chilling. Since this cover, I have heard more of her music, which is much more pop-influenced, but her voice is truly amazing. And it is on full display here.



Mine by Beyoncé covered by Third Eye Blind

Third Eye Blind is as old as alt. rock itself and they have had more changes to their lineup than an ice hockey team. The one constant throughout the years has been Stephen Jenkins. If you’ve heard their newest album, I’m sorry. This cover of “Mine” by Beyoncé is the one bright spot in recent memory.



House of the Rising Sun covered by Alt-J

“House of the Rising Sun” has been covered a million times, by a million artists, but it has only been covered by Alt-J once. Their take on this old folk song is definitely one of my favorites. I can’t even do it justice to try and describe it. Just listen to it and see for yourself.



Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right by Bob Dylan covered by Albert Hammond Jr.

Albert Hammond Jr. got his fame from his contributions on lead guitar for The Strokes. But his first solo album, Yours to Keep, is almost as important as The Strokes were to indie rock music. His cover of a Dylan classic, “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right,” isn’t groundbreaking, but more of a modern refresh.



Slow Show by The National

covered by Coeur de Pirate

“Slow Show” by The National is one of their best songs (besides “I Should Live In Salt”), but I think that this version is slightly better. No disrespect to The National, their version is amazing. I just like the slower tempo taken here.






30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page